MYTILOS – Evaluation of Coastal Water Contamination Using Biointegrators

 

The useful role of "sentinel" organisms or "indicators" for marine environment contaminant monitoring has been recognized for several decades. Bioaccumulation is unaffected by the rapid fluctuations of water masses, and facilitates analysis due to the higher concentrations of chemical substances found in accumulating organisms. The monitoring of chemical contamination levels and trends in Mediterranean Sea coastal environments is sometimes, however, hindered by the absence of natural mussel populations in certain areas of the basin.

On the basis of data acquired on the French Mediterranean coast by Ifremer and the Rhône Méditerranée & Corsica water board since 1996, via the RINBIO network (see http://www.ifremer.fr/envlit/region/reg10paca/rlm.htm#RINBIO), the MYTILOS project drew up a chemical contamination map on a Western Mediterranean scale, using a standardized methodology. Between 2004 and 2006, various oceanographic campaigns were conducted on the continental coasts of Spain, Italy and France, the Balearic Islands, Sicily, Sardinia, Corsica and along the Maghreb coast. Around 120 days were spent at sea deploying and retrieving 124 mussel cages.

Analyses focused on several contaminant types: heavy metals, organochlorinated compounds (DDTs and metabolites, PCBs), and 16 polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs). Complementary measurements were performed on a small number of cages to assess levels of dioxins and furanes, PBDEs, and nonyl and octyl phenols.

A large proportion of research was conducted in the framework of the INTERREG III B / MEDOCC project, steered by Ifremer and backed by Toulon Var Technologies (see http://mytilos.tvt.fr/) in cooperation with the ICRAM (Italy), IEO (Spain), PSTS (Sicily), IMEDEA (Balearic Islands), CSIC (Catalonia), the Agence Catalane de l’Eau, INSTM (Tunisia), ISMAL (Algeria), INRH and University of Agadir (Morocco). MYTILOS is also backed by the PNUE/PAM - MEDPOL and Agence de l’Eau Rhône Méditerranée & Corse (Rhône Méditerranée & Corsica water board).

Results

The most highly impacted areas were mainly urban and industrial centres and the mouths of major rivers. Towards the open sea, concentrations of organic compounds were shown to decrease faster than metal concentrations in these areas. Measured concentrations in midsea (i.e. around 1 km from the coast) were similar to concentrations in natural shellfish populations living along the coast.

Example of results for PCBs (polychlorobiphenyls), click to enlarge:


MYTIMED Project – Assessment of Chemical Contamination in Western Mediterranean Coastal Waters

In the aim of extending the scope of MYTILOS in the Western Mediterranean, IFREMER and Toulon Var Technologies received joint-financing in 2006 in the framework of the INTERREG III B MEDOC project MYTIMED, associating the ICRAM and PSTS (Italy), HCMR and ANEM (Greece), INSTM (Tunisia), NCMS (Lebanon) and HIMR (Syria). This project is backed by the PNUE/PAM – MEDPOL. Various cruises took place in May and August 2007 to acquire data from the coastal waters of these countries.

________________

The data collected by MYTIMED and MYTILOS will be made available via a website. This site will also provide access to automated processing procedures (statistics) and data edition procedures (graphics, classification, SIG links).

Completion of the Mediterranean Road Book is also envisaged in conjunction with the PNUE/PAM - MEDPOL and CIESM, via two complementary campaigns: the Adriatic (MYTIAD campaign in 2008) and the southeastern Mediterranean: Israel, Palestine, Egypt and Libya (to be defined in agreement with the relevant countries).

 

Contact : Bruno.Andral@ifremer.fr

MYTILOS - Evaluation de la contamination chimique des eaux côtières en Méditerranée occidentale par biointégrateurs

L'intérêt des "organismes sentinelles" ou "indicateurs" pour la surveillance des contaminants dans le milieu marin est reconnu depuis plusieurs décennies. Le phénomène de bioaccumulation permet de s'affranchir des fluctuations rapides des masses d'eaux. Il facilite l'analyse par les teneurs plus élevées rencontrées dans les organismes qui concentrent les substances chimiques. En Méditerranée, la surveillance des niveaux et des tendances de la contamination chimique en milieu côtier, se trouve toutefois confrontée à l'absence de gisements naturels de moules dans certaines parties du bassin.

Sur la base de l'expérience acquise depuis 1996 par l'Ifremer avec le soutien de l'Agence de l'Eau Rhône Méditerranée & Corse sur le littoral méditerranéen français avec le réseau RINBIO (cf. http://www.ifremer.fr/envlit/region/reg10paca/rlm.htm#RINBIO), le projet MYTILOS a consisté à dresser avec une méthodologie standardisée une carte de la contamination chimique à l’échelle de la Méditerranée Occidentale. De 2004 à 2006, des campagnes océanographiques ont eu lieu sur les trois façades continentales (Espagne, Italie, France), les îles Baléares, la Sicile, la Sardaigne, la Corse et côtes du Maghreb.  Le projet représente environ 120 journées de travail à la mer pour la pose et la relève de 124 stations artificielles de moules.

Les analyses ont porté sur plusieurs types de contaminants : les métaux lourds, les composés organochlorés (DDT et métabolites, PCBs), 16 hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques. Sur un nombre réduit de stations des mesures complémentaires ont permis d’évaluer les niveaux de plusieurs autres contaminants organiques : les dioxines et furanes, les PBDE, les nonyl et octyl–phénols.

Une partie importante des travaux a été menée dans le cadre d'un projet INTERREG III B / MEDOCC coordonné scientifiquement par l'Ifremer avec l'appui de Toulon Var Technologie (cf. http://mytilos.tvt.fr/) et en coopération avec l’ICRAM (Italie), l’IEO (Espagne), PSTS (Région Sicile), l’IMEDEA (Région Baléares), le CSIC (Région Catalogne), l’Agence Catalane de l’Eau, l’INSTM (Tunisie), l’ISMAL (Algérie), l’INRH et l’Université d’Agadir (Maroc). MYTILOS  a reçu le soutien du PNUE/PAM - MEDPOL et de l’Agence de l’Eau Rhône Méditerranée et Corse.

Résultats

On remarque que les secteurs les plus fortement impactés concernent essentiellement les pôles urbains et industriels et le débouché des principaux fleuves. Autour de ces zones, on constate aussi une décroissance plus rapide des concentrations pour les composés organiques que pour les métaux quand on s’éloigne vers le large. Les niveaux mesurés pour ces derniers en champ moyen (soit en moyenne à 1 km de la côte) sont en effet du même ordre de grandeur que ceux observés dans des populations naturelles de coquillages vivant sur le littoral.

Exemple de résultats pour les PCB (PolyChloroBiphényls), cliquer pour agrandir:

 

Projet MYTIMED - Evaluation de la contamination chimique des eaux côtières en Méditerranée oreintale

Pour compléter MYTILOS sur la Méditerranée Orientale, l'IFREMER et Toulon Var Technologie ont été cofinancés en 2006 dans le cadre d'un autre projet INTERREG III B MEDOC : MYTIMED qui associe l’ICRAM et PSTS (Italie), le HCMR et l’ANEM (Grèce), l’INSTM (Tunisie), le NCMS (Liban) et l’HIMR (Syrie). Ce projet soutenu par le PNUE/PAM – MEDPOL.  Des campagnes à la mer ont eu lieu en mai et août 2007 pour acquérir des données dans les eaux côtières de ces pays.

________________

La valorisation de l’ensemble des données de ces projets sera faite sur un site Internet regroupant les données MYTIMED et MYTILOS. Ce site permettra également d'accéder à des procédures automatisées de traitement (statistiques) et d'édition (graphiques, classification, lien SIG) des données. 

En complément et en concertation avec le PNUE/PAM - MEDPOL et la CIESM, il est envisagé de terminer la Road Map de l’ensemble de la Méditerranée à l’aide de deux campagnes complémentaires : Adriatique (campagne MYTIAD en 2008) et sud-est de la Méditerranée : Israël, Palestine, Egypte, Lybie (à définir en concertation avec les pays concernés).

Contact : Bruno.Andral@ifremer.fr