Led jointly by IFREMER and the IPGP-CNRS/INSU, the MoMARSAT research cruise to the Mid-Atlantic Ridge off the Azores will run from 1 to 16 October 2010. The objective of this expedition on board the R/V Pourquoi pas? is to deploy an array of autonomous oceanographic instruments — connected underwater — that will continuously monitor the active hydrothermal processes on the Lucky Strike vent field. The data acquired at 1700 m depth will be transmitted to a surface buoy and then by satellite to land-based research centres, several thousands of kilometres away!

The MoMARSAT cruise is part of MoMAR, one of the demonstration missions of the European ESONET programme that is developing a network of deep-sea observatories. Several research institutes are closely involved in the demonstration mission: Universities of the Azores and Lisbon, NOC, University of Bremen, IUEM/UBO, OMP-LMTG and UPMC/LOCEAN. The objectives of the deep-sea observatories are to monitor, in real time, the natural dynamics of marine ecosystems and to identify the factors that influence environmental variation and faunal assemblages.

At the end of the cruise, participating scientists will be able to continuously monitor the variations in temperature, physico-chemical conditions and seismic activity in the area as welle as observe the highly unusual hydrothermal fauna in action! This observatory will be operational for one year and the instruments will be recovered in Summer 2011.

La première campagne océanographique MoMARSAT 2010, menée conjointement par l’Ifremer et l’IPGP-CNRS/INSU, s’est déroulée du 1er au 16 octobre 2010 sur la dorsale médio-Atlantique au large des Açores. À bord du navire océanographique Pourquoi pas ?, l’objectif de la mission était de déployer un réseau d’instruments de mesures autonomes, connectés au fond de l’eau, qui ont permis d’observer en continu les processus hydrothermaux actifs du champ Lucky Strike pendant 1 an. Les données acquises à 1700 m de profondeur ont été transmises à une bouée de surface qui les a communiquées par satellite aux centres de recherche à terre, c’est-à-dire à plusieurs milliers de kilomètres !

La campagne MoMARSAT s’intègre au projet MoMAR, l’une des composantes du programme européen ESONET/EMSO, qui vise à constituer un réseau d’observatoires en milieu marin profond. Les objectifs de ces observatoires sont d’assurer, en temps réel, un suivi de la dynamique naturelle des écosystèmes marins et d’identifier les facteurs qui influencent les variations du milieu et de la faune. Plusieurs instituts de recherche font partie du projet MoMAR: Universités des Açores et de Lisbonne, NOC, Université de Brême, IUEM/UBO, OMP-LMTG et UPMC/LOCEAN.

L’observatoire de Lucky Strike sera récupéré après un an de fonctionnement au cours de la campagne MoMARSAT 2011 qui se déroule du 29 juin au 23 juillet 2011. Si l’état des instruments le permet, l’observatoire sera redéployé à nouveau pour un an sur la même zone.